"Vision : Improve our nation, focus on education"



The Curriculum
Oxford English School follows the guidelines of the British National Curriculum in most subjects. In addition a thorough and comprehensive programme is offered for Arabic Language, Islamic Studies and Islamic History.

Structure of the British National Curriculum
For each subject and for each key stage, programmes of study set out what students should be taught, and attainment targets set out the expected standards of students’ performance. The school chooses how to organise the school curriculum to include the programmes of study.

The National Curriculum is a framework used by schools to ensure that teaching and learning is balanced and consistent.

It sets out:

  • The subjects taught.
  • The knowledge, skills and understanding required in each subject.
  • Standards or attainment targets in each subject. Teachers can use these to measure your child’s progress and plan the next steps in their learning.
  • How your child’s progress is assessed and reported.

The National Curriculum comprises of:
Three core subjects and other foundation subjects. The core subjects are English, Mathematics and Science. The foundation subjects are ICT (Information and Communication Technology), Geography, Art, Music and Physical Education. The following chart shows the comparison of the year group descriptions with Key Stages of the National Curriculum.

Currently, OES offers classes for Early Years Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2.


Year Group

Key Stage

3 – 4 Years


Early Years

4 – 5 Years


Foundation Stage

5 – 6 Years

6 – 7 Years 

Year 1

Year 2

Key Stage 1

7 – 8 Years

 8 – 9 Years

 9 – 10 Years

 10 – 11 Years 

Year 3

 Year 4

 Year 5

 Year 6


Key Stage 2

11 – 12 Years

 12 – 13 Years

 13 – 14   Years

Year 7

Year 8

 Year 9


Key Stage 3

14 – 15 Years

15 – 16 Years

16 – 17 Years

Year 10

 Year 11

Year 12


Key Stage 4