"Vision : Improve our nation, focus on education"

Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2

 Key Stage 2 includes the primary years, Year 3-6, for students between the ages of 7-11. Our Year 3 and 4 classes are for both boys and girls, while students in Year 5 and 6 are segregated. Students follow a programme of study based on the National Curriculum.

This Key Stage covers 4 years of learning. Over such a long period the learning needs of the children will gradually change. As they become more proficient in their reading and writing, the time they need to concentrate on basic English will gradually reduce, and as consequence, more time will be available to develop Science and the other foundation subjects.

Programmes of study set out what teachers should cover in every subject during each Key Stage.

There are also four general teaching requirements, which apply across all subjects.

Teachers should:

  • Use language effectively
  • Use information and communication technology (ICT) effectively
  • Follow health and safety guidelines
  • Provide teaching that includes different viewpoints

OES programme for Key Stage 2 includes:

  • English language
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Geography
  • Art
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Arabic language
  • Islamic Studies
  • Islamic History